My Illinois Concealed Carry License is Expired. Can I Still Carry?
A common question we are hearing a lot of lately. Many of our students are waiting well over 100 days, some even over 120 days, to receive their renewed concealed carry licenses. Some might even have expired licenses. So, can you carry with an expired concealed carry license?
When the Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act first passed it included protection for both the licensee as well as the state. The Illinois State Police Firearm Services Bureau is notoriously understaffed. If you might recall, at the time of Sandy Hook Firearm Owner Identification cards (FOID) renewals were approaching 6 months in some cases. There were hundreds, if not thousands, of people stuck in a limbo with expired cards but had filed their paperwork in ample time.
Fast forward a few years, the sponsors of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act were smart enough to recognize the problem and include this language in the bill…
(430 ILCS 66/70)
Sec. 70. Violations.
(c) A license is invalid upon expiration of the license, unless the licensee has submitted an application to renew the license, and the applicant is otherwise eligible to possess a license under this Act.
If you have forgotten to apply for renewal of your concealed carry license, your license in invalid. However, if you have applied for renewal, and your license is expired while you wait, your license should still be valid.
Please note I mention “should” because not all police offers may understand this as part of the law. It is alleged that police can see the status in their computer systems. However different departments use different versions of the LEADS database. Don’t leave it to chance. Alpha Koncepts is recommending the following practice to students…
- Apply 120 days before renewal allowing ample time for renewal to be processed so you don’t need to worry about becoming expired.
- If your license is expired, but you have applied for renewal before it expired, print the page from the Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act referenced above so that you may show a police officer if necessary that you are complying with the law. The act may be referenced here: http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3497&ChapterID=39
- Also carry a print out of the receipt you received when paying for your renewal, as proof you had renewed.
Please note the above suggestions are not required by law but are simply a means to possibly prevent any hassles that may come your way.
Yes, If you applied for renewal before it expired.
Learn more about Illinois Concealed Carry Training
Learn more about Defensive Pistol Training